SBAC Applauds Effort of Bipartisan Group of House Members

The SBAC applauds the bipartisan group of 33 Illinois House members who publicly called for an end to Illinois’ budget impasse. This is exactly the type of bipartisan leadership we have been looking for from our legislators.

Below is the group’s statement:

The finances of the state of Illinois are in crisis, and we must do better. The time for resolution is now. We are a bipartisan group of House members committed to seeing that happen.

There have been many ideas submitted both inside and outside the Statehouse. The key question for any of them is “Do they have the votes to pass?” The Senate offers one set of ideas in the form of a grand bargain negotiated by both Democrats and Republicans in that chamber.

We believe a solution that can pass the House and Senate and be signed by the Governor needs to include a package of bills that fundamentally addresses the needs of the state, and most importantly provides a normal, full-year budget for our state agencies, schools, and social service providers.

Let’s be clear; we aren’t looking at a simple all or nothing vote on a package sent from the Senate. We understand that a package sent from the Senate will not be complete or perfect, and it will change. Our legislative process allows hearings and amendments from both chambers, and we think that’s the best way to negotiate a deal that serves our constituents and the state as a whole.

We want to do what we were elected to do; govern the state. To do that we need to pass a budget. We understand a package from the Senate will be complex. Some parts may make members uncomfortable, and that’s not unusual in a negotiated deal.

We ask the Senators from both parties to pass the best negotiated package they can, and then we will take up their work in the House. We publicly support the hard work of the Senate and wish to continue their efforts.



Ann Williams – 11 – D

Anna Moeller – 43 – D

Avery Bourne – 95 – R

Barbara Wheeler – 64 – R

Bob Pritchard – 70 – R

Camille Lilly – 78 – D

Carol Sente – 59 – D

Chad Hays – 104 – R

David Harris – 53 – R

David Welter – 75 – R

Elaine Nekritz – 57 – D

Elgie Sims – 34 – D

Grant Wehrli – 41 – R

Jehan Gordon-Booth – 92 – D

Jerry Costello State -116 – D

Juliana Stratton – 5 – D

Keith Wheeler – 50 – R

Kelly Burke – 36 – D

Kelly Cassidy – 14 – D

Linda Chapa LaVia – 83 – D

Litesa Wallace – 67 – D

Marcus Evans – 33 – D

Mike Fortner – 49 – R

Norine Hammond – 93 – R

Sam Yingling – 62 – D

Sara Wojcicki Jimenez – 99 – R

Sheri Jesiel – 61 – R

Sonya Harper – 6 – D

Stephanie Kifowit – 84 – D

Steven Andersson – 65 – R

Terri Bryant – 115 – R

Tim Butler – 87 – R

Tom Bennett – 106 – R