Skip to content

Revitalize Local Businesses and Neighborhoods

Thriving commercial corridors support local communities across Chicago and Cook County.  Prior to the pandemic, however, many corridors struggled.  As Chicago emerges from the pandemic and local communities confront a new economic landscape, a strong coalition of stakeholders is needed to advocate for policies and initiatives which will revitalize, empower and connect commercial corridors and neighborhoods.

  • Advocacy Initiatives:
    • Reduce Commercial Vacancies:  We are advocating for an ordinance that will reduce commercial vacancies in struggling Cook County commercial corridors.  One line and the ordinance
    • Encourage Local Investment: We are researching and formulating policies that will encourage local investment in local businesses and neighborhoods
    • Reduce Red Tape:  We are formulating policies to reduce red tape which impacts small businesses in struggling commercial corridors

Check out the full Neighborhood Revitalization Coalition (NRC) website here.

Insights Archive

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Aldermanic Endorsements: Alderman Anthony Beale Alderman Desmond Yancy Alderman Mike Rodriguez Alderman Nicholas Sposato Alderman William Hall Alderwoman Leni Manaa-Hoppenworth SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

Scroll To Top