Skip to content

News

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

The Health Insurance Protection Act: What Small Business Owners Should Know About the Bill

By emma@sbacil.org | May 1, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Small Business Economic Impact Analysis Template

By natalia.borowska | April 30, 2024

Small Business Economic Impact Analysis Template Rule change: ______________________________________________________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________   NAICS 2-digit codes of small businesses being impacted: ___________________________________________________ _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________   Estimated number of small businesses being impacted: _____________________________________________________   List how the rule will impact the following categories for a small business:         Hiring and staffing: _____________________________________________________________________________________    …

Transforming Vacant Properties into Thriving Small Businesses

By emma@sbacil.org | April 8, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE The SBAC is thrilled to announce an innovative and important program that will support small businesses and revitalize disinvested Chicago communities. Partnering with Allies for Community Business (A4CB), and with support from We Rise Together: For an Equitable & Just Recovery, we have launched a program that will connect the owners of…

The SBAC Heads to Springfield to Fight for the Small Business Community

By emma@sbacil.org | April 8, 2024

Download SBAC Lobby Day Brochure here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE The Small Business Advocacy Council (SBAC) is gearing up for a crucial visit to the capital on Wednesday, April 10, 2024, as the legislative session commences in our state capital. Building upon the successes of the previous year, we are determined to make significant strides for…

WGN News Highlights Policy Change for Vacant Storefronts

By emma@sbacil.org | February 27, 2024

Help Us Reduce Vacancies in Local Communities! SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE WGN News Highlights Policy Change for Vacant Storefronts Vacant storefronts litter neighborhood business districts in disinvested communities, causing blight, impacting safety, and depressing economic activity. Because of the negative impact of vacant properties in neighborhoods across the city, a robust coalition of chambers and place-based…

Proposed Updates to Chicago’s Retailer and Food Vendor Rules

By natalia.borowska | February 19, 2024

Visit the BACP website SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Proposed Updates to Chicago’s Retailer and Food Vendor Rules The Department of Business and Consumer Affairs (BACP) has published proposed updates to the City of Chicago’s Retailer Rules. The Department has also introduced certain rules for food vendors.   BACP is accepting public comments until February 26, 2024,…

The Debate Over The Chicago Real Estate Transfer Tax

By emma@sbacil.org | February 5, 2024

Download pdf here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Register for the SBAC Informational Webinar: The Chicago Real Estate Transfer Tax HERE. The Debate Over The Chicago Real Estate Transfer Tax Chicago is a tremendous city with a proud tradition. Our great city, however, faces multiple challenges, including persistent economic headwinds and an increase in homelessness. Economic development…

Insights Archive

Scroll To Top