Skip to content

Are You Prepared for a PPP Loan Audit?

Are You Prepared for a PPP Loan Audit?

Keeping records related to the PPP funding is two-pronged.  First, the organization had to submit the application and supporting records for the PPP application.  Second, records must be maintained to prove how those accepted funds were spent to sustain the business or the purpose of the funding.

The SBA has the right to ask for access to the business records, and an organization must ensure it maintains these supporting records, for a specific period of time.  It is also important that organizations keep their business records in compliance with all Federal and State statutes.  Business advisors are warning that any organization that received over $2 million in PPP funding, should anticipate being audited. Therefore, if you received any PPP funding, it is reasonable for you to anticipate an audit as well.  Have a plan on how the organization will ensure it has the necessary records, should an audit or investigation arise.  That plan should include the following seven points:

  1. Know the purpose of the loan and how the funds are spent.
  2. Consider engaging a Certified Records Manager.
  3. Capture the records.
  4. Use metadata to track the records.
  5. Anticipate an audit.
  6. Know the retention requirements.
  7. Have a destruction process.

To learn more, about these seven points and receive the PPP Records Retention Guide, see the full article at:  https://www.crmig.com/ppp-loan-audits-are-you-prepared/

 

By Cheryl Banke, MLIS, CRM

CEO & Founder, CRMIG

www.crmig.com

Cheryl Banke serves as CEO & Founder of CRMIG, which is a records management and information governance consulting company located in the Chicagoland area.  She is a Certified Records Manager, Paralegal, and Librarian with over 25 years of records management experience.   As a consultant, Cheryl assists organizations with their increasingly complex and demanding regulatory and technological challenges.  Cheryl has partnered with clients in the health care industries, union organizations, manufacturing firms, financial institutions, various services industries, and non-profits.

Insights Archive

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Aldermanic Endorsements: Alderman Anthony Beale Alderman Desmond Yancy Alderman Mike Rodriguez Alderman Nicholas Sposato Alderman William Hall Alderwoman Leni Manaa-Hoppenworth SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

Scroll To Top