Skip to content

Black And African American Owned Businesses Should Receive Their Fair Share Of State Contracts 

Black And African American Owned Businesses Should Receive Their Fair Share Of State Contracts

Illinois has failed many Black and African American owned small businesses because they have been unable to procure their fair share of state contracts or receive a fair share of the revenue associated with state contracts. Indeed, the failure of Black and African American owned businesses to receive state contracts is stunning.  State Representative Will Davis has filed HB 2629 to rectify this situation.  There has never been a more important time to support Black and African American owned small businesses.

HB 2629 establishes as a goal that 40% of state contracts be awarded to minority owned businesses and that 20% of all state contracts be awarded to Black and African American owned businesses.  The legislation provides that companies will need to return the funds they receive which are allocated but not used to meet these goals.

Please support Black and African American owned small businesses by taking action so they can receive their fair share of state contracts. You can contact your state representative and ask them to sponsor this legislation by filling out the short form below.

It only takes a moment.  Thank You!

Insights Archive

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Aldermanic Endorsements: Alderman Anthony Beale Alderman Desmond Yancy Alderman Mike Rodriguez Alderman Nicholas Sposato Alderman William Hall Alderwoman Leni Manaa-Hoppenworth SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

Scroll To Top