Skip to content

Big Win for Chicago Home Based Businesses

Big Win for Chicago Home Based Businesses

"This is a crucial time to support entrepreneurs with the dream of launching and growing their businesses in Chicago. This ordinance will unleash Chicagoans looking to build a business that will support local communities,” said SBAC co-founder and President Elliot Richardson. “We appreciate the support and leadership of Chairman Villegas in moving this ordinance forward. We are also thankful to the Aldermen and Alderwomen who sponsored the ordinance and those at the City who we worked with on home-based business reform."

 

Chicago Sun-Times: Chicago Relaxes Licensing Rules for Home-Based Businesses - Chicago Sun-Times (suntimes.com)

 

Block Club Chicago: Home-Based Businesses Would Face Less Red Tape Under City Proposal (blockclubchicago.org)

 

Media Advisory: More Room for Chicagoans to Grow Home Based Businesses

Insights Archive

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

Scroll To Top