Skip to content

The Delta Variant and the Small Business Community

Click HERE to read the entire article. 

The small business community was increasingly optimistic this summer. The pandemic was waning, restrictions disappeared and customers were coming back in droves.

Vaccinated individuals gathered without masks. While many businesses struggled to find qualified employees, their prospects for recovery looked good.

Then the Delta variant came and COVID cases started to significantly increase. That optimism that defined the small business community has been replaced with concern and uncertainty.

How significant will the spike in Illinois be? What, if any, mitigation measures will be put into place? How will the resurgence of the pandemic impact consumer behavior?

The trajectory of the pandemic may shift again before this article is published. It seems the only thing that remains certain during this pandemic is uncertainty.

Policymakers must be ready to support the small business community should the new surge threaten the viability of small businesses. This includes promptly getting Back to Business grants to as many struggling small businesses as possible. Policymakers have allocated about $300 million for these grants. The onset of the Delta variant makes it crucial to swiftly provide this funding to as many small businesses as possible.

Click HERE to read the entire article.

Insights Archive

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Aldermanic Endorsements: Alderman Anthony Beale Alderman Desmond Yancy Alderman Matt Martin Alderman Mike Rodriguez Alderman Nicholas Sposato Alderman William Hall Alderwoman Jessie Fuentes Alderwoman Leni Manaa-Hoppenworth SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

Scroll To Top