Skip to content

Calling for IL Occupational Licensing Reform

Occupational licenses should protect the health, safety and welfare of the public. Unfortunately, some occupational licenses are unnecessary and burdensome. They create unwarranted barriers for Illinois entrepreneurs and those interested in working in new professions.

Needless occupational licenses also keep people from moving to Illinois. Needless occupational licenses, or those which are overly restrictive, also hurt small businesses struggling to find qualified employees.

Illinois policymakers can support small businesses, create jobs and empower entrepreneurs by guarding against the imposition of unnecessary red tape through new occupational licenses. Legislation has already been filed which, if passed, will establish a process to investigate and review whether new occupational and professional licenses are necessary.

Illinois House Bill 4012 will permit any individual or interested party to ask the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation to review proposed legislation establishing new licenses or expanding the scope of those already in existence. The department will then be empowered to make recommendations to legislators before they vote to establish another occupational license.

Illinois legislators should also eliminate or modify unnecessary and burdensome licenses already on the books in Illinois. For example, a barber in Illinois must complete 1,500 hours of education, which is often costly, before being able to cut hair or start their own business.

This is only one example of a license that creates barriers for people trying to work.

Read the article in its entirety here

Insights Archive

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Aldermanic Endorsements: Alderman Anthony Beale Alderman Desmond Yancy Alderman Matt Martin Alderman Mike Rodriguez Alderman Nicholas Sposato Alderman William Hall Alderwoman Jessie Fuentes Alderwoman Leni Manaa-Hoppenworth SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

Scroll To Top