Skip to content

Occupational Licensing Reform

Occupational Licensing Reform

Occupational licenses are often necessary to protect the safety, health, and welfare of the public. However, when these licenses are revisited by legislators, it is important they have accurate and unbiased information before determining whether and how to maintain such a license.

Regulatory Sunset Review - HB5576

This legislation amends the Regulatory Sunset Act to require the existing sunset report process collects and provides comprehensive and specific information about the need for licensure, the licensing process, and the equity concerns arising from personal qualifications, such as the cost of training and continuing education and whether such requirements are suitably addressing public safety. The bill provides guidance for the report’s recommendations of modifications to licensing rules that will lower barriers for applicants but still address genuine public safety concerns, including a list of regulatory tools other than licensure, like registration or certification, disclosures, or insurance requirements. The bill does not usurp legislators' ability to make the final determination regarding a license.

License Information Task Force - HB5575

This legislation creates a task force that includes representatives from low- and middle-income licensed occupations along with a mix of academics, advocates, administrators, and legislators. The goal of the task force is to collect, centralize, and analyze data from IDFPR about low- and middle-income licensed occupations and evaluate licenses using an equity and access lens. The legislation provides that a final report will be published and provided to the General Assembly with recommendations about increasing equity and economic opportunity. With this comprehensive information, legislators can target reform efforts to preserve public safety while removing unnecessary requirements.

Insights Archive

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Aldermanic Endorsements: Alderman Anthony Beale Alderman Desmond Yancy Alderman Mike Rodriguez Alderman Nicholas Sposato Alderman William Hall Alderwoman Leni Manaa-Hoppenworth SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

Scroll To Top