Skip to content
WEZ 112321

Supply chain issues are a tremendous concern for the small business community especially as the holiday season approaches.

“Small businesses are just having a tremendously difficult time getting the supplies that they need to run their business, and, of course, this is even more concerning with the holiday season approaching,” said Elliot Richardson, president of the Small Business Advocacy Council in Chicago.

He said the supply-chain problems are impacting all kinds of retailers.

“We heard a lot about it from restaurants. From folks who sell T-shirts. From embroidery businesses. You know, really, from businesses who are consumer-facing who need to serve food, get product out to their customers,” Richardson said.

Even business owners who don’t have physical storefronts but rely on imports to make their products here are having a tough time.

Small Business Advocacy Council's Elliot Richardson discusses this with WBEZ on both audio and in print here:

Insights Archive

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

Scroll To Top