Skip to content

Cutting Red Tape in Zoning: Neighborhood Revitalization Coalition

How can we cut red tape for small businesses through zoning? 

In the City of Chicago, every business license, location expansion and change of location application needs to be reviewed and approved by the Zoning Board of Appeals before a business license application can be processed. For a business owner to submit proper documentation, they must identify which business use to classify their business.  In the City of Chicago, there are over 22 pages of business uses - a portion of which are outdated and with a noticeable omission of modern ways to incorporate businesses into the city economy.

 

The SBAC believes in cutting red tape for small business owners. Simplifying and downsizing the list of business uses will make it easier for small businesses to obtain proper zoning credentials in a timely fashion. By identifying the antiquities in Chicago’s zoning classification system, we can further encourage entrepreneurs to look beyond the boundaries of traditional business structures.

 

Insights Archive

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Aldermanic Endorsements: Alderman Anthony Beale Alderman Desmond Yancy Alderman Mike Rodriguez Alderman Nicholas Sposato Alderman William Hall Alderwoman Leni Manaa-Hoppenworth SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

Scroll To Top