Skip to content

Coalition Engagement Sparks New Chicago Zoning Guide

Business Update (600 × 400 px)

Navigating the zoning rules in Chicago just became easier.

 

The newly released Chicago Department of Business Affairs and Consumer Protection (BACP) Chicago Business Zoning Guide will help small businesses and property owners more easily navigate the zoning process in Chicago.  This was crucial as chambers of commerce and small business advocates advised that clear, reliable, consistent, and updated information on zoning usage in the City of Chicago was needed.  This was conveyed to the city and this new zoning guide was formulated.

Per the BACP, the new Zoning Guide contains significant updates, including:

  • Easy-to-follow charts to increase readability and save time
  • Additional introductory zoning information to acquaint users with how zoning works and the specifications of each zoning district
  • Updated, consistent, and reliable information regarding business uses
  • Helpful resources and tools for further business support

BACP will be hosting information webinars providing an overview of the updated Zoning Guide and zoning requirements. The first webinar, “Zoning Guide Overview” will take place on Thursday, August 25th at 10:00 a.m. To register, visit Chicago.gov/BusinessEducation.

Thank you to the chambers and other groups that highlighted this issue and provided insight on how this zoning guide could help support small businesses and revitalize commercial corridors.  Thank you to members of the Neighborhood Revitalization Coalition zoning committee for your engagement.

The work to revitalize neighborhood business districts continues!

 

Insights Archive

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

Scroll To Top