Skip to content

Policy Committee Contact Information

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

Read More

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

Read More

Transforming Vacant Properties into Thriving Small Businesses

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE The SBAC is thrilled to announce an innovative and important program that will support small businesses and revitalize disinvested Chicago communities. Partnering with Allies for Community Business (A4CB), and with support from We Rise Together: For an Equitable & Just Recovery, we have launched a program that will connect the owners of…

Read More

The SBAC Heads to Springfield to Fight for the Small Business Community

Download SBAC Lobby Day Brochure here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE The Small Business Advocacy Council (SBAC) is gearing up for a crucial visit to the capital on Wednesday, April 10, 2024, as the legislative session commences in our state capital. Building upon the successes of the previous year, we are determined to make significant strides for…

Read More

WGN News Highlights Policy Change for Vacant Storefronts

Help Us Reduce Vacancies in Local Communities! SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE WGN News Highlights Policy Change for Vacant Storefronts Vacant storefronts litter neighborhood business districts in disinvested communities, causing blight, impacting safety, and depressing economic activity. Because of the negative impact of vacant properties in neighborhoods across the city, a robust coalition of chambers and place-based…

Read More

The Debate Over The Chicago Real Estate Transfer Tax

Download pdf here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Register for the SBAC Informational Webinar: The Chicago Real Estate Transfer Tax HERE. The Debate Over The Chicago Real Estate Transfer Tax Chicago is a tremendous city with a proud tradition. Our great city, however, faces multiple challenges, including persistent economic headwinds and an increase in homelessness. Economic development…

Read More

The Launch of the Chamber Relief Grant Program!

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE We’re thrilled to announce the official launch of the Chamber Relief Grant Program by the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO). The program aims to provide vital support to chambers of commerce dedicated to uplifting small businesses and local communities. DCEO announced the launch of the chamber relief grant program, along with opening…

Read More

Chicago Paid Time Off Ordinance Final Rules

Chicago Paid Time Off Ordinance Final Rules SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Helpful Resources: View the first English webinar on Chicago’s Paid Leave and Paid Sick and Safe Leave Ordinance HERE. View the first Spanish webinar on Chicago’s Paid Leave and Paid Sick and Safe Leave Ordinance HERE. Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) Flyer Informational Flyer The Department…

Read More

Join the Small Business Advocacy Council’s District Advocate Program!

Join the Small Business Advocacy Council’s District Advocate Program! Download the District Advocate Program One-Pager Insights Archive Insights Archive Select Month May 2024 April 2024 February 2024 January 2024 December 2023 November 2023 October 2023 August 2023 July 2023 June 2023 May 2023 April 2023 March 2023 February 2023 January 2023 December 2022 November 2022…

Read More
Scroll To Top