Skip to content

SBAC Advocacy Update

October 10, 2023

The SBAC continues fighting for policies that will support small businesses and neighborhood business districts. Here are some updates on our efforts!

Health Insurance

The rising cost of health insurance continues to be a challenge for the small business community. Last spring the SBAC championed legislation focused on reducing premiums for small businesses and increasing transparency so policymakers, and the public, can better understand what drives the costs of health insurance. This legislation passed and will apply to health insurance plans in 2026. This is a big win for small businesses struggling to provide affordable, quality health insurance to employees. Learn more about the bill here.

You can hear SBAC President Elliot Richardson speak about the legislation here!

Property Taxes

The SBAC is formulating its 2024 state agenda and property taxes will be a big priority. We will be advocating for legislation focused on reducing property taxes and providing relief for small businesses. More to come shortly!

Neighborhood Revitalization Caucus

Neighborhood business districts are struggling in Chicago’s disadvantaged communities. We can revitalize neighborhoods by reducing barriers for small businesses and improving the process for entrepreneurs who want to open or grow a business in Chicago.

We are forming a legislative caucus focused on neighborhood revitalization and asking every politician in Chicago to participate. To see which policymakers have already expressed an interest in the caucus click here!

This caucus will focus on revitalizing underserved neighborhoods, supporting local businesses, and fostering economic growth in Chicago.

Please reach out to get involved in the SBAC!

Insights Archive

Larger Tax Credits for Hiring Formerly Incarcerated Individuals

By emma@sbacil.org | July 1, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Illinois Policymakers Take Bold Action to Support Businesses and Foster Opportunities for Formerly Incarcerated Individuals Press Release SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By growthzone | May 17, 2024

Fact Sheet in Spanish Fact Sheet in Polish Fact Sheet in Arabic Fact Sheet in Chinese Fact Sheet in Vietnamese Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE Aldermanic Endorsements: Alderman Anthony Beale Alderwoman Jessie Fuentes Alderwoman Maria Hadden Alderman William Hall Alderman Brian Hopkins Alderman Tim Knudsen Alderman Bennett Lawson Alderman Matt Martin Alderman Mike Rodriguez…

Policy Committee Contact Information

By growthzone | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

Scroll To Top