Skip to content

Chamber of Commerce Grant HB 4993

sbac-logo

February 2022

 

Dear Illinois Legislators:

Chambers of commerce provide crucial support and services to small businesses and local communities.  They promote economic development and provide forums by which local businesses can collaborate.  Chambers connect small businesses with potential customers, patrons, and clients.  They also support charitable and civic endeavors.

The Covid-19 pandemic has persisted for nearly two years and each wave has dealt a devastating blow to many chambers of commerce.  Fundraising challenges, a loss of members and other pandemic related difficulties have all contributed to their financial challenges.  Chambers continue to struggle, and prompt financial support is needed to support ongoing operations.

We are asking that legislators co-sponsor and champion HB4993.  This legislation will provide grants for chambers which have lost revenue because of the pandemic.  Specifically, the bill provides chambers with grants that total two months of lost revenue from 2019 to 2020.  These funds will be crucial to the recovery and resurgence of local chambers across Illinois.

Chambers of commerce have played a crucial role during the pandemic.  They have consistently provided critical information to their members and have helped small businesses navigate the pandemic.  Chambers remain dedicated to continuing their efforts to foster the recovery of small businesses and communities.

Please co-sponsor HB4993 and support the chambers of commerce which support our local businesses and communities.

Elliot Richardson
President & Co-Founder
Small Business Advocacy Council
Elliot@sbacil.org
Office: (312) 548-8608

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

*Heading*

Post content here.

Archives

Support Chicago Small Businesses By Reducing Red Tape

By natalia.borowska | May 17, 2024

Download PDF here SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE

Policy Committee Contact Information

By emma@sbacil.org | May 16, 2024

Policy Committee Contact Information: Alona Anspach alona.anspach@ihtwm.com Beth Kregor bkregor@ij.org Cathie Van Wert cathie@doubletakedesign.com Chris Lautenslager chris@get-looped.com Chris Allen callen@wshscpa.com Chuck Scharenberg chuck@moreprofitmorefreedom.com Danielle Petty DANIELLE@LTCONSULTLLC.COM Dean Alonis Dean.alonis@gmail.com DeRondal Bevly derondal@rubyrosestrategies.com Diana Cafi dcafi@healthproinnovation.com Gina Lipscomb gina@rjlipscomb.com Heather Jones hjones@vopf.com Ian Tobin ian@lincolnsquare.org Isaac Troncoso isaactroncoso5@gmail.com Ivy Walker ivy@askcoda.com James Smith jim@jdshomes.net Jeff Van…

What Chicago Retailers Should Know About The Kiosk Ordinance

By emma@sbacil.org | May 6, 2024

SBAC INSIGHTS PAGE An ordinance has been filed which will impose a tax on retailers that use automated self-checkout kiosks. This ordinance taxes retailers $20,000.00 for each automated self-checkout kiosk operated at their establishment. The burden for paying this tax cannot be shifted onto customers. There are record-keeping requirements and other rules set forth by…

Scroll To Top